Message in a Bottle

January 23, 2009 § 1 Comment

When I’m upset, I send lots of clues out into the universe. It’s how I ask for help. Without the internet I’d be stuck with sending messages in bottles, but fortunately there are much better options. Blogging is one. Facebook is another. Away messages.

Lots of people respond to these cries for help. But often the one you secretly wanted to reach is the one who doesn’t respond.

Sometimes you just need someone who will be there for you, no matter what the circumstances, no matter what else they had planned that day. Even if you don’t have any words to say, they will sit by you and be there. And if you say, “You can go home, I’m ok, really,” they don’t go. Even if you’re in the middle of a fight, they will come over and pick you up off the floor and hold you.

Sometimes you have people who will be there for you like that, but sometimes they are not the person you secretly wish would be there for you like that.

But maybe we can’t expect to get everything we want. And maybe we should spend more time appreciating the people who are there rather than angsting over those that aren’t.

Maybe this is a message in a bottle. Maybe it’s passive aggressive. Maybe I’m just fucked up because my grandma just died.

Maybe you’ll never see this because I don’t think you’re very interested in reading my blog. Maybe that’s part of the problem.

Maybe this is completely irresponsible. Maybe it’s insensitive. Maybe it’s childish.

Maybe I’m only human.

§ One Response to Message in a Bottle

  • podunkette says:

    I’m sorry, I understand, except for that exact opposite reason, I’m completely bent on helping and consoling people, but only when it’s convenient for them just so they can blow me off afterward. Maybe we’ll grow out of it someday. Hope things get better.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Message in a Bottle at Out of the Basement.

meta

