This blog sucks

January 20, 2009 § 4 Comments

I really don’t like this blog.

To be successful as a “personal” blogger, you need to be comfortable writing about your personal life.  I am only sortof comfortable, because I am still applying to schools and to jobs, and I worry that what I say on my blog could possibly hurt my chances of getting accepted or hired, or get me fired.For this reason, I haven’t been able to write about most things, and the “safe” stuff I’m left with just really isn’t that interesting.  I don’t have the energy these days to find ways to make posts about getting stuck in traffic a dazzling piece of humor writing.

This is why I haven’t been updating.  I’m really not sure what I’m going to do.

§ 4 Responses to This blog sucks

  • Rory says:

    For what it’s worth, I enjoy what you do post… I have a hard time writing about non-work too. I guess a pen name is always a way to go, but who know how safe that actually is…

  • 2sonrisas says:

    I know what you mean Leah. My personal fear is just that someone in “real life” will happen upon my blog and then access information or opinions I haven’t had the nerve to voice outloud. Or maybe they’ll be offended if they’ve figured out I am talking about them. LOL.

    But interesting ehough, your blog title today caught my eye, I’ve started to read other entries…and I’m intrigued.

    As Rory suggests, a pen name is a good idea. I do happen to have 2 other blogs under an alias. I use those for writting about issues or experiences I don’t want to link straight back to me personally.

    I say, if you like to write, write. You never know who might stumble upon your blog and find it interesting.

  • Robin G says:

    There really is something to be said for the anonymity of pen names. Otherwise it’s awfully hard to write about, well, anything. (Personally, I think employers Googling your name is kind of mean, especially for people our age — I started on the ‘net in ’96, and yes, I said stupid shit, and yes, I left my name everywhere. Netiquette wasn’t quite so established back then.)

    Writing comes easier when you do it every day, even if you don’t have a lot to say. 75% of Reality Fish is just whatever is in my head when I wake up in the morning. A lot of it is boring, but sometimes something good comes out of it. If I only waited for the insightful stuff, I’d never update and lose my readership and eventually give up entirely.

  • Leah says:

    Robin – yeah I know what you mean about writing every day. It’s not so much that I try to wait for insightful stuff to say (which I do sometimes) but more that the everyday interesting stuff is generally too personal for me to feel safe writing about. I have just been feeling lately that it should be all or nothing – total disclosure and openness, or else a non-personal blog.

    I am an incredibly open person in my day-to-day non-internet life. I wish it was safe to be as open online. I really admire people who are open and transparent online. I am hoping that once I am older, and have an established professional career and reputation of some kind, it will be safe to be open about my life. (Aka, when prospective employers or admissions committees no longer need to Google me.)

    Someday I hope to be completely transparent online. But even that can be tricky. For example, writing about family or relationships. But yeah. Nuff said.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading This blog sucks at Out of the Basement.

meta

