Exerpts from today

November 18, 2008 § Leave a comment

  • I decided, without much thought, to wear the blue and silver star of David necklace to school. During my class, one of my kids said, “Yo, hold up!  What is your necklace?  Is that a blue star?”  I replied, “It’s a star of David, a Jewish symbol.”  A second kid chimed in with the inevitable, “You’re Jewish?”  While the first expells some serious relief saying, “Yo cuz the blue star is like a Cryps symbol and all and I thought that was like some gang shit!”
  • An old man was walking past me on the street.  He looked unkept and he had his finger raised in the air and was about to speak.  I was instantly on guard as I figured he was about to give me an incoherant rant on secret government conspiracies and get uncomfortably close to me as he did it.  He yells, with each word equally emphasized, “How do you decorate a canoe for Christmas?”  I replied, “I don’t know!”  “You use oar-naments!” he replied, and continued along his merry way.
Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Exerpts from today at Out of the Basement.

meta

