Week One Wrap-Up

November 8, 2008 § 2 Comments

I don’t think I realized it until my aunt and honorary aunt asked me the inevitable question, “So how’s the job?” and before I even knew what I was saying, I replied…

I LOVE MY NEW JOB!

I have never said that about a job before.  Ever.  I’m not sure I’ve ever even liked a job before.

I work with about 20 high schoolers, most of which are in this program because they just can’t function well under the restrictive and authoritarian rules of a traditional high school.  Some of them have some learning disabilities and need extra help, but most just need to be given a little slack.  Most of them have less-than-ideal home lives and their backgrounds definitely impact their attitude towards school, as well as adult authority figures.  At this program they (we hehe) give the kids more responsibility and respect, and let a lot of the less important issues (like swearing) slide for the most part.  When they aren’t being reprimanded for every little thing, these kids can relax, form relationships with the teachers and staff, and focus more on their schoolwork.

I love this work.  I think the kids are sweet and adorable, even though they are angry, fiesty, teenagers. I like helping them do their work (which is what I do as an ESP) and I like the whole relationship-building thing.  I’m pretty young and I think they respond to that, especially the girls.  Everyday I have at least one moment where I get to have that amazing “Wow, I just reached that kid!” feeling.  Also, my coworkers are awesome.

Oh, and I get to wear jeans and there are no cubicles in sight.  I had a minor epiphany explaining this to my aunts.  These kids need a little slack to perform well.  I think I also need that slack to perform well in a job.  I don’t respond well to arbitrary limits either- like the wardrobe and office decor required of the corporate world.  Nor do I respond well to traditional work expectations- that I can sit at a desk for 8 hours, in front of a computer, and stay happy, healthy, and productive.  I function much better in a high school environment, where throughout the day I am doing all kinds of different work- from teaching, to planning, to meetings, to social interaction and even playing Risk with the students.

The only thing that could make this better is when I finally get my first paycheck.  Because lets be honest.  I could really use a balance above $112.00 in my checking.

§ 2 Responses to Week One Wrap-Up

  • Aviv says:

    That’s awesome! So glad to hear.

  • Marianne says:

    I’m jealous. I miss working with high school students, and as you mentioned, the whole social interaction thing. The only social interaction I get at my current computer job is when I mumble “Hey” to people as we pass each other in the hallway.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Week One Wrap-Up at Out of the Basement.

meta

