First Day of School Jitters

November 3, 2008 § Leave a comment

Tomorrow is my first day of school.  Yep, it’s back to high school, but this time I’m not a student.  Turns out all the same “new kid” anxieties still apply.

When I was 11 years old, I started at the joint high school/middle school.  I was terrified of the silliest things, like whether I would be able to find the stairs and get from one class to another in the meager 4 minutes alotted between classes.  At age 23 I find myself nervous all over again about how I will find the right classrooms, where I will take my lunch break, and whether the other kids will like me.  I’m worried about what I’m going to wear.

I’m mostly worried about waking up at 6 and being awake enough to function at 7:15.  As a college student I never woke up before 8:30, and even then that was only once or twice a week. Grad school was even sweeter.  I slept at least until 10 every day, often sleeping “in” until noon. Unemployed life?  Ha.  Let’s just say that I had to tell my friends to stop calling before 2 in the afternoon.

Life it is a-changing.

For the first time, I will be earning my own health benefits.  I will be able to start paying back my student loans.  I have a credit card.

I would really feel like a fully-qualified adult if I weren’t still squatting in my parents’ basement.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading First Day of School Jitters at Out of the Basement.

meta

