Employment

October 30, 2008 § 1 Comment

I sat on this information for almost a week because I was so afraid that by speaking it (or writing it) aloud, it would somehow sprout wings and fly away.  But it hasn’t and I think it’s finally safe to say those three magic words.

I start Monday.

Yes, ladies and gentlemen, I have found a job.  Technically though, it found me.

My parents kept saying that I had to be aggressive.  “A job is not just going to fall into your lap, you know!”  So I was!  I was very aggressive, applying to all kinds of jobs, for most of which I was hardly qualified.  But even before I started my aggressive job search, I had submitted an application to be a substitute teacher for the school district… although I technically never finished submitting my letters of recommendation because a certain professor seems to have disappeared of the face of this earth.  Anyhoo, one day, I get a random phone call asking me if I’d like to interview for this position… a position I had never heard of.

You know how companies and organizations always say they’ll keep your application/resume on file in case they ever need you?  And you just nod and say thank you even though you know they’re just saying that to make you feel better?  Sometimes, apparently, they actually do.  This job just happened to fall into my lap, and I think it’s going to be great.

I am going to be working in the education field, as I had hoped, with high school age kids, as I had hoped.  It’s a very small alternative program that I think does a lot of good for its kids.

Honestly, I am a little nervous about starting on Monday.  My first impression of my coworkers is that they are awesome, but I have to say I am nervous about meeting the kids.  What if they don’t like me?  What if they think I’m one of them because I’m so young, and therefore don’t treat me with no respect?  Oh god- what if they treat me like an adult!  Does that mean I’m too old to still be cool?

See, this job is already demonstrating huge identity crisis potential.

Either way, I am very excited.  Excited to try my hand at education, excited to BE EMPLOYED, excited to start making money.

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to Employment

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Employment at Out of the Basement.

meta

