Unemployment

October 18, 2008 § 1 Comment

Since I have finished my dissertation, I have been enjoying the time off.  But lately I feel as though my grace period before getting a job is at an end.  Somewhere along the line this transitioned from a well-deserved vacation to a sad, unemployed, state of affairs.  I can’t say I could have picked a worse time to try and enter the job market.

I’ve been spending a lot of time job hunting, filling out applications for positions I’m ridiculously underqualified for, and daydreaming about being able to move out of my parents’ basement someday.  I’ve come across quite a few interested ways to make money in this search.

  • Babysitting
  • Freelance writing
  • Selling drugs
  • Day-trading
  • art modelling
  • Phone sex operator
  • Tutoring
  • Odd jobs
  • Selling my possessions
  • Selling used underwear on the internet
  • Internet scams

Internet scams, man.  These days I really admire those cats.  Like the person who posted pictures of a bunny and said that if people didn’t donate enough money, the rabbit would become dinner.  Or the guy who traded a paper clip and ended up with a house.  If only I was that creative.

I hope I get some more interviews or offers soon… or else I may have to resort to drugs or the sex industry.

Tagged:

§ One Response to Unemployment

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Unemployment at Out of the Basement.

meta

