Pump it up

August 26, 2008 § 1 Comment

You know that awesome feeling after a good workout?  Yeah… that’s it.  Ahhhhhhhh.

I just got back from a gym adventure with my boyfriend, who has kindly risen to the challenge of being my personal trainer.  At first I was terrified of working out with him, but I eventually got used to the idea.   It took a lot of convincing that my pit stains and flushed face would look, “cute.”  True to his word, he continues to use the word “cute” to refer to my abject grossness.  Clearly, he’s a keeper.

This new push to get back in shape is a little bit different than my usual, “yeah I’d like to lose weight and get in shape but I’m really busy…” approach.  The reason:  the dress.

This is the dress I will be wearing in my friend’s wedding in April.  I think it’s pretty cute, but unfortunately, I was not designed to look good strapless.

I was told, by someone who has seen the dress in person, that it is great because the shape of it covers all of your flaws.  They obviously were referring to flaws in the butt and thigh area, ignoring that whole back/shoulder area.

I don’t know about you, but I refuse to be “that girl” walking down the aisle sporting back flab. Don’t even lie, you know what I’m talking about.

This is why this gym routine is so different.  For the first time I will be lifting weights to tone, tone, tone in addition to butt-busting cardio.

I feel great right now, but tomorrow I am pretty sure I wont be able to lift my arms above my head. After only two days of lifting, I am still in disbelief that it is actually supposed to make you this sore.  Ouch!

This dress may just be magical, though, because each time I wince with pain I imagine myself in it with perfectly sculpted shoulders, arms, and back.  This is my first wedding, and I’m gonna do it right!

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Pump it up

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pump it up at Out of the Basement.

meta

