Back in the USA

August 15, 2008 § 1 Comment

I arrived back in the United States last night for good.  My year abroad is over, though my dissertation is not.  It feels SO GOOD to be back in my parents’ house – even the basement!  My bed felt divine after a year on a plastic coated cot mattress.  And the little snack my mom prepared for me when I got home (thick, juicy tomato slices with tuna fish on top) was the best thing I’d eaten in months.

The journey was long, if uneventful.  Virgin Atlantic is still the way to go on any transatlantic flight.  On the plane I watched the Arabic film Caramel and the epic chick-flick 27 Dresses. To be honest, I think I was most impressed with 27 Dresses, but that may be because I am going to be a bridesmaid in my first wedding in April, and I just learned about the dress I’ll be wearing.  (Time to get back in shape… NOW)

Jet lag is fun.  It’s the reason why I’m awake before 7 am.  Don’t get used to it.

I have a pretty packed day planned for myself on my first day back, starting with, a haircut!  For the first time in a long while, I am going to attempt a “new do.”  I’m just really tired of being the girl with straight, long, plain hair.  I am trusting myself to Scott, who impressed me last time I got a trim with a speech about how he never lets someone go home with a haircut that will not flatter them, so I think I am in good hands.  Regardless, this is going to be extremely exciting.

Also today I will go visit my grandmother, who is leaving for Boston tomorrow for heart surgery.  At her age this is fairly dangerous, but necessary.  Needless to say, I am anxious.

And finally tonight, I have a date.  With my boyfriend.  With my boyfriend who waited for me for an entire year.  Tonight we may officially start bragging about the fact that we survived a year-long long distance relationship.  And tonight, we get to go back to being a normal couple.  I wonder what that will be like!

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to Back in the USA

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Back in the USA at Out of the Basement.

meta

