Splendour of Splendours

July 19, 2008 § 3 Comments

Today I attended the Splendour Festival in Wollaton Park in Nottingham.  This means I have officially attended my FIRST music festival!  As a person who normally gets bored at concerts before the main act gets on stage, I was impressed with my stamina.

I started things off on the right foot by sneaking in.  We entered the park on the wrong side, and came into the concert area through the back entrance.  While festival staff were looking at my friends’ tickets (I was the only one without) I simply walked past them.  No music is as good as free music!

The festival started off really well with a local midlands semi-celtic folk rock band called The Beetroot Kings. I even danced to one of their songs, and I rarely dance!

Then there were all the bands in the middle.  They were all kinda meh but ok.  We layed on the blanket, bundled in our sweatshirts because it was NOT warm.  Sunny though, which was all you can really ask for in England.

We caught most of the Petebox’s set, which was fantastically cool.  He’s a beat boxer, and a very good one, who performs using a live-loop recording device to add layers on to his songs.  I was particularly surprised and impressed when he beat boxed a rock version of Shalom Haverim.

Then, finally, the headliner, Kate Nash.  I had been excited to see her, since she was the only artist I had actually heard before.  And I considered myself a fan.  Unfortuantely, her set was just okay.  Her slow stuff didn’t go over well, and telling the audience to be quiet certainly wasn’t a good move.  But she hit her stride with the faster stuff, and she did a nice job on my favorite songs.  She’s cute, but could use a little more stage presence.

All in all, my first music festival experience was a success.  (I certainly got what I paid for!)

The Beetroot Kings and the Petebox were the clear winners of the day, so please do check them out.

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to Splendour of Splendours

  • ya mum says:

    Your fucking stupid, you need to go to more gigs man!

    Beetroot kings and petebox were fucking shit! there’s only so much you can do with beatboxing, once you have herd it, its all the same.

    It was all about the Charlatans! they took that festival.

  • Leah says:

    The crowd definitely seemed to love the Charlatans, but they just didn’t do it for me.

    Also, you should really watch your spelling when you try to insult someone for being stupid.

    It’s spelled “you’re” not “your.”

  • Daz says:

    I totally agree Charlatans where good but once the volume trebles for your headliners they are bound to sound louder and clearer, the Beetroot kings where awesome by far the best band there. Ive been to hundreds of gigs inc Oasis, Manics, Charlatans, Mondays etc etc. Given the chance and big crowd beetroot kings will blow people away, Charlatans where top in thje 90s its 2008 mate!!!! music moves on just nice to see a real band with guitars. Otherwise we stuck with old hat 90 bands or Shit Dalek electric no talent shite!!!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Splendour of Splendours at Out of the Basement.

meta

