Approaching Phase Two

July 16, 2008 § Leave a comment

As you may or may not realize, I am writing my Masters dissertation.  Here is an outline of my progress over the last few weeks:

June 25 – Return from Eurotrip vacation. 

June 27 – Okay, nothing left to unpack.  Now, where did I put my notebook?

July 1 – This is harder than I remembered.

July 4 – I’m not getting anywhere.  This sucks.  I hate my topic.

July 6 – This is not working.  Is it too late to change my topic?

July 7 – OMG MY TOPIC ISN’T GOING TO WORK I NEED TO CHANGE IT OMG FREAK OUT! 

July 8 – Calm down, have a brainstorming session with dad.  Come up with way to alter topic so it will work.  Begin to see the clouds lift and beauty return to the world.  (Metaphorically speaking, this is England!)

July 9 – Get down to business. 

July 12 – Wow, there’s alot of this theory business!

July 15 – Okay, I think I’ve got this under my belt now.

And that brings us up to now… that inevitable scariest point in the entire writing process: Writing.

I have researched, read, digested, organized, and thoroughly chewed on the theory I need to write my first section.  But this is problematic because I, so far, have taken the Underpants Gnomes approach to denial.

Phase One:  Research theory!

Phase Two:  *Blank stare*

Phase Three:  Profit!  I mean, Dissertation!

It is so hard to look at a blank Word document and type that very first word.  Because once you have written that word, you’re really writing.  You’re really writing your dissertation and from that point on, things seem to matter more.  Your dissertation becomes real, and consequently, terrifying.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Approaching Phase Two at Out of the Basement.

meta

