God, I missed my family

March 13, 2008 § 3 Comments

I’m finally back on American soil folks, and happy to be here.  So far I have seen my old college chums, and am now finally at home with my parents, and happy to be here.   I love my family.  Here is an example of why:

My mother calls my brother’s cell phone.   My brother is a freshman frat boy, baseball hat and all.
Mom (on the phone): Hi, Aaron?   How is it?  Yeah.  Sake bombs? <pause> Is the sake warm or cold?

Tagged: ,

§ 3 Responses to God, I missed my family

  • Bill says:

    Hey, Leah, sounds like you’re doing well. Tenured at Yale at 28? Maybe 36! Seems like The Future but sooner than later you’ll refer to being 36 as your young years!

    Ha.

    I’m finally getting published-ish thanks to Dooce. It’s been a fun experience working with her and the publishers and New York editors. Yikes!

    England is a great place to study. I know because that’s where I got my advanced degrees and more than I bargained for to boot. Or, in American, to trunk, which makes no sense.

  • Rory says:

    Howdy Leah, glad to hear you’ve come and gone safely. Air travel is such a pain. I attend school 1300 miles away from home and I do not envy those that don’t have to waste a day traveling to get home…

    Sake bombs? I wonder myself what that could be… maybe it’s a frozen piece of sake that explodes in your mouth?

  • Leah says:

    A sake bomb is a shot of sake (Japanese rice wine) dropped into a beer, I believe. I’ll have to ask my younger brother.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading God, I missed my family at Out of the Basement.

meta

