Things I’ve Done

March 6, 2008 § 7 Comments

Maggie Mason at Mighty Girl came up with the idea of making a list of 100 things she wanted to do before she died. Then, Kristen at MyBackPages thought it would be a better idea to make lists of all the things she has already done. I like that idea better, to be honest. It makes me feel good about myself, because once I started making this list, I realized that I’ve done a lot more than any person my age deserves.

  1. Backpacked in the White Mts, New Hampshire
  2. Visited Israel
  3. Lived in Spain
  4. Wrote a 1 act play, that was performed twice
  5. Seen Picasso’s Guernica
  6. Graduated Summa cum Laude
  7. Kayak camping off the coast of Maine
  8. Wrote an op-ed columns in both local and college newspapers
  9. Lived in England
  10. Seen Michaelangelo’s David and the Sistine Chapel
  11. Been on a cruise
  12. Lived in my first apartment
  13. Rode a camel in the desert (taken from Maggie’s list)
  14. Made Phi Beta Kappa
  15. Wrote a sex column
  16. Been in love
  17. Been to South America
  18. Had a Bat Mitzvah
  19. Eaten escargo in France (also taken from Maggie’s list)
  20. Seen Niagara Falls
  21. Hiked Masada to see the sunrise over Israel
  22. Been in a major car accident
  23. Visited Morocco and stepped onto the African continent
  24. Seen the Roman Colosseum
  25. Got Hugh Jackman’s autograph
  26. Gone skinnydipping
  27. Saw David Bowie in concert
  28. Eaten paella in Spain
  29. Been to California
  30. Read Ayn Rand
  31. Done yoga
  32. Found someone the perfect birthday present
  33. Swam in the Dead Sea
  34. Came up with a great idea for a website
  35. Had a group of porpoises follow me in my kayak.

That’s all I can come up with right now. And looking over this list, especially at all the travel-related accomplishments, I have to send out a huge THANK YOU to my parents. Even though they stayed home for most of those adventures, they made sure I could always go.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Things I’ve Done

  • Rory says:

    Ashtanga yoga? I’ve been practicing for a few years and I’m stuck with no studio that teaches in my area. Very sad indeed. I have to yammer about yoga because all your travels make me feel lumpish. I’ve added you to my posse list, by the way 🙂

  • Leah says:

    Thanks Rory!

    To be honest, I have no idea what kind of yoga I’ve been doing. It’s taught by a student at the university. From what others have said, it might be closer to power yoga, because it totally kills me every time I go.

  • kristen says:

    This is a great list so far. I’ve also done #1; #20 is on my 100 Things to Do list; #26 is something I think everyone should do at least once.

    I’m a little older than you, so I was able to get to 100 items. I’ll put my list up sometime today.

    Thanks for playing!

  • marian says:

    Hah, if it wasn’t for me you wouldn’t be able to say you’ve eaten escargots

  • Leah says:

    That is true! You have expanded my gastronomical horizons.

  • Emma says:

    I think the only thing I would have on a list like this is “been parasailing.”

  • Leah says:

    Emma- I really want to do that!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Things I’ve Done at Out of the Basement.

meta

