A little shakey, but I’ll be alright

February 27, 2008 § 2 Comments

I just experienced my first earthquake.

I was just sitting at my computer, staring into the Facebook void and contemplating bed when I started to hear a strange rumble-rattling noise. At first I thought it was the squirrels in the attic causing a ruckus, but to make a room shake like that they’d have to be some pretty goddamn heavy squirrels!

The room really started to shake and I realized this must be an earthquake. I looked out my window and saw other students looking out their windows. No answers there.

I remember everything shaking, the bottle of lotion on my desk about to teeter over. My first instinct was to protect my computer. I sortof leaned over it, though I’m not sure exactly what that was meant to accomplish.

I kept remembering that during an earthquake you’re supposed to stand in a doorway or something, but I didn’t want to leave my computer. It was all plugged in, and in the middle of a upload to my photo gallery! (This is where it becomes clear how sick my priorities are…)

I guess I learned something about myself: that in an emergency, I can be counted on to be indecisive and do nothing. Nothing except make a half-hearted attempt to safeguard the electronic foundations of my so-called life.

And then my desk lamp tipped over. And after what felt like 15 minutes, but was actually only 10 or 15 seconds, it stopped. Now if only I could get my legs and fingers to stop shaking.

***

The earthquake’s magnitude is reported to be a 4.7, here, and a 5.3 by the BBC, the biggest quake in England since 1984!

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to A little shakey, but I’ll be alright

  • […] blogger commented: “The room really started to shake and I realized this must be an earthquake. I […]

  • Edna Lee says:

    Hey! Welcome to the club! Here in California, we barely stop what we’re doing to notice an earthquake, but I understand your post-shake jitters. That whole “stand in a doorjamb” thing is a load of crap though. When was the last time you saw images of an area devastated by an earthquake and all that was left standing were the doorjambs? I’m with you; sacrifice your body for your technology!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A little shakey, but I’ll be alright at Out of the Basement.

meta

