The non-romance of English weather

February 19, 2008 § 2 Comments

I spent last weekend in Dublin.  Damn, I love being able to say that.  To be able to do that.  My round trip flight was around £30, and I stayed with a friend studying at Trinity, so I had free room and board for the weekend.  And a good thing too, because Dublin is incredibly expensive.

But Dublin was beautiful, and the weather was divine.  It was in the 40s to 50s F (I still haven’t figured out Celsius yet, forgive me) and sunny.  And there were flowers blooming all over, like these at St. Stephen’s Green.

p2150025.jpg

So, it was quite a shock to wake up this morning in Nottingham to actual FROST.  It was the closest thing we’ve had to snow this year!  And it was cold enough that my tears froze to my cheeks as I biked down the hill into the wind.

But even worse than the cold is the drab.  To give you an idea of how depressing the combination of a) the lack of sunlight and b) the post-industrial landscape can be, here is the view from my kitchen window today.

p2190056.jpg

It’s as if someone tampered with the world in Photoshop and drained all the color out.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to The non-romance of English weather

  • Stuart says:

    Oh dear, Leah. that view from the window does look so drab (and slightly Radford-ish??)

    Hang in there. I live in Nottinghamshire (not in the city) and on one of those nice, sunny days last week had a terrific country walk and saw plenty of flowers and buds pushing their way through.

    It was pretty horrible this morning though eh?

    Stu

  • Marianne says:

    I like how there’s that one little purple flower in the center of all the yellow and white ones. And I’m not even a big flower fan. 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The non-romance of English weather at Out of the Basement.

meta

